A Life [Not] Like This

What’s Your Gut?

September 7, 2009
Leave a Comment

I’ve written about my problems at work, I suppose? I’ve decided to stop talking about it since it might be considered as leaking company’s information. However, worry not, I’ll still have a lot of other general topics to be discussed of. Let’s see… what about employee’s rights?

Before I put on my opinion onto it, why don’t we flash back a little into our parents suggestions? Especially, Asian parents.
“Boss is always right, don’t mess around with them. No matter how you feel that you are being treated like shit, you better learn to taste it like sweets.”
Uhuh… a sweet sweet teaching, really.

Well, it’s not that we (the now generation) don’t realize it, when we’ve just start working, we have to start it low and hard. We don’t mind hard works (don’t we?), we don’t mind low position (don’t we?)…. But we (or ok la, maybe it’s only me) don’t like being deceived.
Do you get what I mean by being deceived? Let’s see…
If, the future employer tell you : I offer you a salary of xxx, your main job will be xxx, BUT, I’m sorry to say this, but all of us do multitasking here. All are expected to work hard.
That, is called employer’s bargaining power. They give the offer and let us to decide whether we would like to accept it or not.

Compare it to :
“Can you do tasks like xxx? We need you to xxx. We offer the salary of xxx.” That’s all.
That called unhonesty (in the case of what they told you is different than what they give you), because they didn’t explain what tasks we are expected to do, and suddenly give you irrelevant job. It’s called killing someone’s opportunity. Get what I mean?

Let’s see, Company A offers USD 500/ month with a relevant job description. Company B offers USD 1000/month with irrelevant job description. BUT, with a 1 year relevant job description, we can get another offer at another company for USD 1500/month while wit irrelevant job description we can’t get any higher offer. There’s an opportunity cost there which supposed to be our right to compare between 2 offers. When the future employer deceives you about the job description, you’ll have to bear the opportunity loss.

Well, how sweet can a shit be when you lose your lifetime opportunity and waste 1 year with a bad choice of investment?

Then again, what can you do? What can a lowly employee like you do when that happen? None… Ay? You don’t expect me to answer that way, do you?
Well, let me clear it up. If you were smart enough to keep your job offer copy, then something could be done. If your parents rich enough then something could be done. If you know some big shots then something could be done. If you are in a labour organization then something could be done.

“So… If I don’t be in any group of those that you mentioned then nothing could be done?”

Well, basically, theoretically… you are a dead meat… Sorry to say the truth pal :p
BUT, you could have your courage, your friends could have the courage and stand up for your own sake anyway. This is a risky choice, I won’t deceive you by saying that everything will be OK. What I can tell you is that IF you dare to stand and speak up, you could be proud of yourselves. You have an above average gut and confident and certainly a strong enough mentality. Especially if you could pass your ‘bullied trial’ after it.
I’ll say don’t worry, those big shots out there earn their name for not being average. The path sure is hard, but it’ll be paid off.

I know, talking is easy, but have I done what I said? No, honestly said, I haven’t. Do pray for me so I’ll know what to do? 😉


Posted in What Should Be